2019 Consortium Commission

We are excited to organize a Consortium Commission for a new duo work:
Be Still My Child, for Clarinet and Piano, composed by Anthony R. Green

Anthony R. Green

The creative output of Anthony R. Green includes musical and visual creations, interpretations of original works or works in the repertoire, collaborations, educational outreach, and more. Behind all of his artistic endeavors are the ideals of equality and freedom, which manifest themselves in diverse ways in a composition, a performance, a collaboration, or social justice work.

2019 Consortium Commission Details

Be Still My Child for B-flat Clarinet and Piano, by Anthony R. Green. A multi-movement work, ca 10-15 minutes.

Be Still My Child is a collection of pieces inspired by lullabies from around the world, one of which is Thula Mwatana (Be Still My Child) from South Africa. This collection reimagines these lullabies in a contemporary context, while still paying respect to their original meaning and function. While each lullaby inspiration will draw from different cultures, the music will be unified through the lens of the composer.

Anthony R. Green

The work is scheduled to be completed by Jan. 15, 2020, and delivered to consortium members within 10-days of its completion.

Consortium sponsor fee: $150 (USD); $75 payment due by Nov. 15, 2019, remaining $75 due within 10-days of score delivery.

All consortium members will have exclusive performance rights for one year following Meraki’s world premiere (March 2020).

2019 Consortium Members

Meraki | Anastasia Christofakis, clarinet, and Elizabeth G. Hill, piano

Appian Duo | David Cook, clarinet, and Emily Grabinski, piano

Luke Ellard, clarinet

Christopher Nichols, clarinet

To join the Consortium, or for additional information, please complete this brief Interest Form.